The ISCBI membership includes more than 200 stem cell scientists and other experts from stem cell banks, stem cell societies, academia, industry and regulatory bodies, from 23 countries. It is managed by the ISCBI Executive Board. 


ISCBI has a Steering Group which advises the ISCBI Executive Board and drives the organisation of annual meetings and workshops. The international Steering Group is comprised of leading experts in stem cell banking and its membership was most recently updated in November 2020 (see below).


The ISCBI is an open community and welcomes new-comers interested in establishing and developing stem cell resources for local, national and international use.


The guiding principles for the development of ISCBI have been

  • Diversity:

    • To bring together stem cell biobanks supporting diverse applications

    • To engage diverse expertise and knowledge: stem cell biobanks, leading stem cell research groups, scientific societies, regulators, industry, funders and policy groups

  • Inclusivity:

    • Promoting equal access to meetings to all stakeholders and countries

    • Assuring that every country has a voice. 

ISCBI Executive Board
Glyn Stacey

Institute of Zoology, Chinese academy of Sciences, Beijing, China

Rosie Isasi 1.jpg
Rosario Isasi

University of Miami, USA

Andreas Kurtz


Universitatzmedizine Berlin, Germany

ISCBI Steering Group
Elsa Abranches

UK Stem Cell Bank, NIBSC-MHRA, UK

Jeremy Crook

Australian Institute of Innovative Materials (AIIM), University of Wollongong, Australia.

Meri Firpo

Memphis Meats/Univ Minnesota, USA

Mathilde Girard

I-Stem/Yposkesi, Paris, France

Maneesha Inamdar

JNCASR, Bangalore, India

Jung-Hyun Kim

KNIH, Osong, Korea

Eihachiro Kawase

Institute for Frontier Life and Medical Sciences, Kyoto University, Japan

Tennielle Ludwig

WiCell, Madison, USA

Julia Neubauer

Fraunhofer-IBMT/EBiSC, Sarbrukken, Germany

Steve Oh

Bioprocessing Technology Institute

20 Biopolis Way, #06-01 Centros,


Minal Patel

Wellcome Trust/Sanger Institute, HipSci, Cambridge, UK

Michael Peitz

Institute of Reconstructive Neurobiology


University Hospital of Bonn


Martin Pera

Jackson Laboratories/ISCI, Barharbor, USA

Marc Peschanski

I-Stem Institute, Paris, France

Michael Sheldon


Stephen Sullivan.jpg
Stephen Sullivan


Patricia Pranke.jpg
Patricia Pranke

Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil

Fanyi Zeng

Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

Qi Zhou

Institute of Zoology, Chinese academy of Sciences, Beijing, China

Terms of Reference:

The Advisory Board works to promote best practice and high quality training opportunities in the use of pluripotent stem cell lines.

ISCBI Team Support
Alison Stacey

ISCBI Administrator & Events Organiser

Vicky Stacey

ISCBI Administrator & Marketing Support and Events Organiser

Jenny Nelder

J.N. Admin & Events

ISCBI Administrator & Events Organiser